home/ blog/Jan 21st 2024

Geese on the Des Plaines River

I see them out there on my way to work

The view from my desk

Skilled Hunter I caught

You can see the mist from the cooling pond

The mist sticks to everything and freezes

The ice jam on the Kankakee

What I was lookin for

There were no secrets back here

Blisters

Matthiesen State Park

The prettiest of waterfalls

JANUARY TWENTY-FIRST TWENTY-TWENTY-FOUR

Despite the negatives being in the teens the animals show no need for warmer weather. The birds must be from less forgiving climates than here. Why else would they stay? I see them float on the river and canal with no complaints. Before the sun comes up hundreds of them honk at once creating a chaotic start to the morning where normally the snow dampens all sound.
I wish I could fare as well as the animals. Frigid feet and crushed confidence have been the only things I would like to thank the ever present ice for. Vigilant and quick footed for ice only adds to the shock of feeling the concrete first handed.
Next week it should be in the high thirties. I regret the climates decision and wish it would bend to my will.
Most of this week has been a bore. Nothing moves except for the birds and water that is too polluted. The ice is so thick and choking to navigation that some of our barges had to be rescued from a boat that couldn't make it to Peoria. They are still stuck right above an ice jam that is flooding the residents around the Kankakee.
I made my way out there. To see the ice jam. I am not from an area where rivers freeze and jam and flood.
They are taking the hot water from the power plant and using it to try to melt the ice dam but from my reporting, it was doing fuck all.
Seeing the natural disaster was just a minor stop. My destination was Starved Rock. Legend has it that a bunch of people were forced onto the rock then starved.
I brought a snack in case.
Hiking in this weather was easier than I had anticipated. I expected to be cold and miserable the entire time.
I was surprised to see the amount of people I did. They all must have thought the same thing I did.

'If I was to see frozen waterfalls, today is the day.'

I met some ice climbers while out. I met some skiers while out. Both of which are weird in this part of the state because ice and snow aren't really guarenteed from what I am told. The cold is the only thing promised.
The first park went well. Making it back to my car I realized I had a pair of blisters larger than quarters on my heels. This did not stop me from going to the second park. But it did slow me down.
With two wrong turns and four falls all on the same staircase, I was fed up with Matthiesen. Honestly, I left a lot of the park unexplored. Great large ponds surrounded by rock blocking out the sky. My feet and patience tried I left. Laboring up the stairs.
This week has been good. I am in a great mood and dry January has been going well.
It looks like I have more pictures than I have words.



Thank you,
Weebfkr



Starved Rock