home/ blog/March 31 2024

Simple victories

Lookin for asian carp. The menace.

MARCH THIRTY-FIRST TWENTY-TWENTY-FOUR

Ugh. This week has been a dredge. Nothing of it has been remarkable. Or even noteworthy. Not to say I haven't been up to anything, but looking back on this week there will be not much to remember about it in ten years.

On this week

I have spent most of my free time after work working on my fresh linux install. From getting numlock to be on at boot, to booting directly into it instead of windows, to currently learning bash the hard way, I have been flushed with code in my face.
My time spent has had its payoffs. Sometimes I go weeks trying to figure something out but as for now, smooth sailing.
The weather this week has been wet and cold. I have not gone outside because of it. I pray it changes. I dream of getting a tan while reading some book.

On this site

Last night and a lot of today I have been working on my new site. I lived through the days of 90's era websites and I would like to put those days behind me. I hope next week I don't have to publish another blog that looks like this either.

Social Contracts

I finished Rousseau's The Social Contract on Friday. It was a good book. I like to identify as a libertarian but honestly I share more in line with a classical liberal and after reading the book I could see myself holding some progressive beliefs.

The main thought I think that Rousseau has made me rethink has been the purpose of government. Secondarily, my position in said government.

On the former thought, I like my political theory to start with defining the duties and responsibilities it has. Good ol' Life Liberty and Property.
Secondly, my agreement with the government is one of necessity and I should hate the fact that I am put in a position that takes my natural freedoms away from me. Therefore, I should hinder the government in all avenues.

But Rousseau frames things differently. And while I think the government's sole function is to protect my inalienable rights, taking care of the General Will should also be a worthy role.
I would like a government free from the ties of populism, but in this manner, I can not argue that my government should care for The Will of The People.
There is a dialectic here that I will chew on for a while during my walks.

Regardless, making sure the government knows the General Will is a duty of every citizen. I can not deny this.
City Hall here I come?
I think Plato and Rapheal would be upset with me.
I will see you next week ol friend




Weebfkr